CSTA Dallas Fort Worth was established on February 10, 2010, as your local computer science community. This chapter was built to connect you with other computer science teachers, provide professional development to help you improve your craft, and connect your local voice to the national computer science education community.  Check us out on Twitter @dfwcsta.

Your CSTA Dallas Fort Worth Leadership Team

Dr. Philip Taylor, President
Dr. Taylor is the Computer Science Department Chair at Trinity Valley School in Fort Worth, TX. He teaches a variety of CS and engineering courses there, including CS 1, CS 2, AP Computer Science A, Digital Fabrication, and Mechatronics. He is the 9-12 Strand Lead on the 2024/25 CSTA Conference Committee. Philip loves computer graphics and posts work on Instagram. He also occasionally shows up on Mastedon  and Linked In. Contact by email at taylorp@tvs.org
Leonardo Painevilo, Vice President

Mr. Painevilo studied Information Technology in South Korea, where he lived 9 years. He is passionate about technology and is currently at Dallas ISD teaching Computer Science and Cybersecurity classes. Loving collaboration, he is also involved in different volunteer positions inside different organizations like the Project Management Institute and as a member of the Rowlett Library Advisory Board. Connect with him on TwitterLinkedIn, or email at: lpainevilo@dallasisd.org 

Sylvia Bavarian HeadshotSylvia Bavarian, Secretary

Sylvia Bavarian teaches at the Math, Engineering, Technology, Science Academy in Carrollton where she teaches Computer Science I, AP Computer Science Principles, AP Computer Science A and Digital Electronics.

Robin Bailey HeadshotRobin Bailey, Treasurer

Robin Bailey teaches at Plano West Senior High School. She has taught AP CSA and CS I and CS II. Bailey is the UIL Computer Science Coach for Plano West. Her goal is for her students to enjoy coding.

Javier Aguilar, Communications
Javier Aguilar is in his ten years of working at East Fort Worth Montessori Academy as a Computer Science Teacher & Robotics coach at a PreK–5 campus. He is making positive changes by better equipping students for the future. Aguilar is an active edcamper who likes to share and network with other educators as a facilitator for coding, gamification, robotics & digital portfolios LEGO Mindstorms, and MinecraftEdu. Visit his LinkedIn profile to learn more about him, or connect with him on Twitter. For more information, you can email Javier at javier.aguilar@efwma.org.
Dan Blier, Past-President 
Dan Blier is a Career and Technical Education Coordinator for Plano ISD, supporting the PreK–12 CS program, with more than 20 years of experience in CS/CTE education. Visit his LinkedIn profile to learn more about him, or connect with him on Twitter. For more information, email Dan at Dan.blier@pisd.edu.

About CSTA

The Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA) understands that teaching computer science is hard. That’s why our dedicated team and teacher-led Board of Directors has focused on creating a strong environment to support K–12 educators.

We’re proud to have created a community that:

  • Is led by K-12 computer science teachers, and puts teacher needs at the forefront

  • Shares the latest best practices in K-12 computer science education

  • Creates local communities across the US + Canada that make sure every computer science teacher has a home.

  • Builds the largest teacher-led computer science professional development event in the world each year!

  • Provides access to exclusive discounts on courses and tools that will take your teaching practice to the next level.

You might be the only computer science teacher in your school, district or town, but as a part of CSTA, we’re in this together.